Probably the nicest Trail Running in Europe!

Scenic Trail is a trail running competition that involves an area of 170 square Km, touching 8 municipalities: Alto Malcantone, Bedano, Capriasca, Isone Lugano, Mezzovico-Vira, Monte Ceneri and Torricella Taverne, in Southern Switzerland. It takes place during the second weekend in June. Born in 2013 it does see the first edition on a 50Km distance and 3800m in altitude along a path that runs on the ridges of the region, offering a breathtaking view (from here the term “Scenic”). In 2015 and in 2016 Scenic Trail has been awarded as best Swiss Ultra Trail competition in Switzerland. For the fifth edition five paths of unparalleled beauty are available.

Thursday 7.6

18:00-22:00 Bib’s distribution
18:00-22:00 Food & Beverages service

Friday 8.6

14:00-22:00 Bib’s distribution
18:00-23:00 Food & Beverages service
22:00 Party
24:00 K113 night departure

Saturday 9.6

05:00-06:30 Bib’s distribution
08:00 K54 departure from Tesserete
09:00 K27 departure from Tesserete
10:00 K11 Walking departure from Tesserete
11:30 Bogno – first arrivals K27
12:30 Tesserete – first atlethes arrival
11:30-24:00 Food & Beverages service, Pasta Party and music
15:00-17:00 VIP aperitif for the Sponsor
17:00 Awards Ceremony
23:00 Tesserete – last arrivals K54

Sunday 10.6

08:00 Tesserete – last arrivals K113
07:00-09:00 Bib’s distribution
10:00 Vertical della Croce departure from Tesserete
13:30 Awards Ceremony
13:00-17:00 Food & Beverages service

Volounteers

Without your help, an event like Scenic Trail would be impossible to achieve. Enroll and help us to create this memorable event, sustaining your friends or relatives participating to the race. It will be an unforgivable experience. At a check-point or along the trails, as photograph or at the logistic centre, you can always help! More information.

Accommodation

For the overnight stay in the area, we advise you to book well in advance through any web booking platform . We offer a school gym for free use (take along with you mat and sleeping bag). We do have as well a limited space for homemobile and a camping area on a first-come-first-serve base.

 Frequently Asked Questions

Here are the answers to frequently asked questions with regard to the practice of Trail Running in Switzerland as well as answers concerning the Scenic Trail. Please note that if you have additional questions,  write an email at info@scenictrail.ch specifying your request. The answer will be published in this section to make the answer available also to other runners.

CAN A PRIZE BE HANDED OVER TO A DELEGATE PERSON?

The award ceremony at the end of a race is a moment of conviviality and friendship which we believe has enormous value, also seen through the eyes of those who support the race with donations, volunteering, etc. If someone fails to participate in the prize giving, he is not entitled to be represented by third parties (also to avoid unclear situations) except in very special and justifiable cases. In principle those who are not present at the awards ceremony will not receive their prize and this this will be redistributed or used for other purposes.

WHY THE BIB NUMBER MUST ALWAYS BE WORN IN A VISIBLE MANNER?

Scenic Trail’s Bibs contain two electronic chips for detection of the time during the race. If these chips are screened by jackets, backpacks, sweaters, etc. there is all but remote possibility (especially under rainy conditions) that readers positioned along the way are not able to decipher the code therein contained. The competitor is therefore not registered at a given control point, which determines his disqualification. Precisely to cope with these technological deficit, the possibility exists to view movies and photographs taken during the race to determine if indeed a runner has passed a certain place or not, reading the number the bib. If, however, this remains invisible, covered with clothing or equipment, the race director has no chance to carry out a check. Additionally, runners who cut the route, those who deliberately violate the rules or who are guilty of unfair actions, they can be identified by other competitors and announced at the direction of the race only if their bib number is clearly visible. Volunteers on the way are clearly instructed to stop runners whose bib is not put as per Regulation (please read the section on bib positioning) and to put them out of the race. Please take note of this important information

WHERE CAN YOU STAY IN THE AREA AT AFFORDABLE PRICES?

The overnight stays in hotels rooms has a relatively low price but must be planned and booked well in advance. A gym room it’s made available in the nearby school which must however be equipped with personal rugs and sleeping bag. This structure is kindly provided by the Capriasca Municipality and is immediately adjacent to the stadium (Arena Sportiva). We recommend first to evaluate among our hotel partners for an appropriate accommodation with a timely booking.

WHY ARE SWISS RACES’ ENROLLMENT FEES SLIGHTLY HIGHER THAN IN OTHER COUNTRIES?

In Switzerland, races and competitions do generally have a large amount of fees and costs that fall entirely on the organization. A not exhaustive list of these costs, includes the permissions request, police expenses, those for the search and rescue team deployed along the trail, the rental of fixed structures like change rooms and showers, the rental of mobile structures like gazebos and finish arch, food and beverage purchase for the refurnishing points, the participation’s prizes like finisher t-shirts or bandana, runners transportations fees for busses or cars, insurances, some gift for the volunteers, the prize giving ceremony, the timing of the race including bib numbers, media coverage, advertisings, etc.
A part of these costs are covered by our generous sponsors, while another is covered by the incomes of the race itself. Scenic Trail can count on a very popular enrolment fee and we hope runners appreciate it. Thousands of volunteering hours are not taken into the calculation or that would make the race budget explode.

WHY SHOULD BE FIRST CREATED AN INDIVIDUAL ACCOUNT ON ACTIVE NETWORK TO ENROLL AT OUR RACES?

Creating an account allows you to easily manage enrollments at the different races by not having to repeatedly enter your data and at the same time it allows the organizers to get important information about the  runners, including the emergency phone numbers of relatives or friends in case of accidents, the supervision of enrollment and requested options payments , the use of discount coupons or invitations . Furthermore, these datas (which are not disclosed to third parties for any reason ) , serve for example to quantify the sizes of the finisher t-shirts, distibuted by size and gender, to have a postal address in case a runner wants back some forgotten items or wants to buy and receive comfortably at home a DVD with the pictures  of the event , etc.

BE A MEMBER OF A SPORT TEAM OR EQUIPE HAS AN INFLUENCE ON THE REGISTRATION FEE?

No, for the moment the individual registration fee, kept artificially low, is the same for everyone. In the future, members of SWISS TRAIL RUNNING ASSOCIATION might get a discount or free of charge participation in the competition (unconfirmed).However if your team wants to join with a large group (8 or more), Scenic Trail offers some vaucher for a cheaper enrollment. Information at info@scenictrail.ch.

BE A REGA (Swiss Air Rescue Ambulance) SUPPORTERS EXEMPTS FROM PAYMENT OF POSSIBLE INTERVENTION AND RECOVERY WITH HELICOPTER?

Be supportive members of the Rega has no relevance to this effect as the payment of a search and rescue operation is generally paid by the accident insurances of the rescued person, of any nationality may be. Often a small percentage of these costs is charged to the patient and the Rega, in this case, could decide to waive that ammount. Without an insurance that explicitly covers a recovery with helicopter, the costs fall entirely on the rescued person.  Again, check your insurance policy or national laws governing such matters.

IS THERE ANY COLLECTIVE INSURANCE FOR ACCIDENTS?

No, every runner must be insured individually with an accident insurance that covers sports events and as well search and rescue operations (for example, by helicopter). Every country has different laws and clauses regarding this issue and so each participant has to verify through the responsible office, his insurance coverage. An accident might occur even on a holiday abroad and the situation would be exactly the same. No Swiss race offers a collective accident cover. We reiterate therefore the responsibility of participants to verify the insurance coverage of a running accident.

YOU MUST BE OVER 18 TO REGISTER FOR A RACE?

No, competitors are welcome from the 13th birthday for the K11, 14th birthday for the K27 and Vertical della Croce, 16th birthday for the K54 as long as the parents or guardian sign a resolution and take responsibility for the enrollment.For the K113 a minimum age of 18 years is mandatory.

TO RUN IN SWITZERLAND NEEDS ONE A MEDICAL CERTIFICATE?

No, in Switzerland a medical certificate is not required to take part in a run. The runner certifies his health and ability to deal with a race and have to assume the risks. A medical examination is recommended but not mandatory.

HOW CAN I GET BACK TO TESSERETE FROM BOGNO AFTER THE K27?

From Bogno an organized shuttle-bus will take you back to Tesserete in about 20 minutes trip time.

HOW CAN I GO BACK TO TESSERETE AFTER THE K11 WALKING?

The post-race descent from the Capanna Ginestra arrival point, will be accomplished along a marked path that will take you back to Tesserete in about 30 minutes.

I Support Greenhope Logo

Since 2016 we are very proud to support the Greenhope Foundation. A charitable foundation to involve and sensitize the sport community about child cancer.

Start typing and press Enter to search

Peut-être la plus belle course de Trail Running en Europe!

Scenic Trail est une competition de Trail Running qui comprend une aire de 170km carrés touhant 8 communes: Alto Malcantone, Bedano, Capriasca, Isone, Lugano, Mezzovico-Vira, Monte Ceneri et Torricella Taverne, dans le Canton Tessin. Elle a lieu durant le second week-end du mois de juin. Né en 2013, la première édition se joue sur une 50km et 3800m de dénivelé sur un parcours rasant les crêtes de la Capriasca et de Lugano, offrant un panorama à couper le souffle (d’où la terminologie “Scenic”). En 2015 et en 2016, Scenic Trail a été promue aux Swiss Ultra Trail Awards comme la meilleure compétition de Trail Running en Suisse. Pour la quatrième edition, il vous est simplement offert cinq parcours d’une beauté inégalable.

Jeudi 8.6

18:00-22:00 Distribution dossards
18:00-22:00 Restauration

Vendredi 9.6

14:00-22:00 Distribution dossards
18:00-23:00 Restauration
22:00 Concert Sinplus (entrée gratuite)
24:00 Départ nocturne de la K113

Samedi 10.6

05:00-06:30 Distribution dossards
08:00 Départ de la K54 depuis Tesserete
09:00 Départ de la K27 depuis Tesserete
10:00 Départ de la K11 Walking depuis Tesserete
12:00 Bogno –premières arrives de la K27
12:30 Tesserete – premières arrives de la K54 et K113
11:30-24:00 Restauration, Pasta Party et musique
15:00-17:00 Apéritif  VIP pour les sponsor
16:00 Concert The Guinnass (entrée gratuite)
17:00 Remise des prix
22:00 Tesserete – dernières arrives de la K54

Dimanche 11.6

08:00 Tesserete – dernières arrives de la K113
07:00-09:00 Distribution dossards
10:00 Départ du Vertical della Croce depuis Tesserete
15:00 Remise des prix
13:00-17:00 Restauration

BÉNÉVOLES

Sans vous chers bénévoles et sans votre aide, une manifestation comme le Scenic Trail ne serait pas envisageable. Inscrivez-vous et aidez-nous à donner vie à ce défi sportif grandiose, peut être déjà en supportant vos proches et amis qui participent à la course. Plus d’informations.

HÉBERGEMENT

Pour l’hébergement dans les environs, nous vous conseillons de réserver avec beaucoup d’avance sur internet. Un gymnase scolaire est mis gratuitement à disposition pour les coureurs (prévoir un matelas et un duvet). Nous offrons également un espace pour camping car et camping traditionnel (jusqu’à épuisement de l’espace disponible).

Foire Aux Questions

Vous trouverez ici les réponses aux questions les plus fréquentes au sujet de la pratique du Trail running en Suisse, comme les réponses relatives au Scenic Trail. Si vous aviez d’autres questions, nous vous prions de bien vouloir nous écrire un mail à info@scenictrail.ch en spécifiant et précisant votre requête. La réponse sera alors publiée dans cette rubrique de façon à dissiper les doutes éventuels que pourraient connaîtrent d’autres coureurs.

UN TIERS PEUT-IL RÉCUPÈRER UN PRIX À MA PLACE?

La cérémonie des récompense à la fin de la course est un moment de convivialité et d’amitié qui, selon nous, a une valeur essentielle, au delà déjà du respect du soutien des sponsors, des volontaires, etc. Si quelqu’un s’abstenait de participer à la distribution des prix, il ne pourrait pas se faire représenter par un tiers (déjà pour éviter des situations ambivalentes) sauf cas particuliers et justifiés. En règle générale, celui qui ne se présente pas à une cérémonie de récompense, est destitué de ses prix; ces derniers seraient alors redistribués ou utilisés à d’autres fins.

POURQUOI LE DOSSARD DOIT-IL TOUJOURS ÊTRE PORTÉ DE MANIÈRE VISIBLE?

Les dossards du Scenic Trail contiennent 2 chip électroniques pour relever le temps de course. Si ceux-là sont masqués par une veste, un sac-à-dos, un t-shirt, etc. il existe alors une probabilité (surtout en cas de pluie) que les lecteurs positionnés sur le parcours ne parviennent pas à déchiffrer le code. Le concurrent serait alors considéré comme non étant passé au poste de contrôle en question et par conséquent disqualifié. C’est proprement pour pallier aux imperfections technologiques qu’il existe la possibilité de visionner vidéos et photos afin de pouvoir certifier qu’un coureur est effectivement passé ou pas à un endroit précis, en lisant tout simplement son numéro de dossard. Si par contre celui-ci n’était pas visible parce que couvert par des vêtements ou autre matériel technique, la direction de course n’aurait alors aucun moyen d’effectuer ce contrôle. Les coureurs qui coupent le parcours, qui violent délibérément le règlement ou qui ont des intentions anti-sportives, peuvent être reconnaissables par d’autre sconcurrents et dénoncés à la direction de course seulement si le numéro de dossard est visible. Le long du parcours les volontaires sont conviés de stopper les coureurs dont le dossard n’est pas ostensiblement portés comme le stipule le règlement (lire svp le paragraphe relatif au positionnement du dossard) et de les mettre alors hors-course. Nous vous prions de prendre acte de cette notion importante du règlement.

PEUT-ON RESERVER UNE CHAMBRE DANS LES ENVIRONS À DES TARIFS INTERESSANTS?

La nuitée dans les hôtels de la région sont assez bon marché mais il faut quand même réserver à l’avance. En plus le gymnase scolaire serait mis à disposition, mais il faudrait alors disposer de ses propres matelas et duvet. Cette structure est mise gracieusement à disposition par la Municipalité de Capriasca et se trouve très proche du stade (Arena Sportiva). Nous conseillons donc d’évaluer les offres de nos hôtels partner et de réserver dans les temps.

POURQUOI LES TARIFS D’INSCRIPTION SONT-ILS LEGÈREMENT PLUS ELEVES EN SUISSE QUE DANS LES AUTRES PAYS?

Les courses en Suisse disposent généralement d’une série de tâches obligatoires qui rendent l’organisation très coûteuse. Une liste non exhaustive comprend les taxes pour la demande d’autorisation, les dépenses de Police, celles pour la gestion de la sécurité et du sauvetage sur le parcours, la location des structures fixes comme les vestiaires et gymnases, la location des structures mobiles comme les arcades gonflables de la zone de départ et d’arrivée, les tentes et gazebos, l’achat de la nourriture et des boissons, les dépenses pour un cadeau de participation (t-shirt, bandana, etc.), les dépenses organisatives comme les déplacements en auto, le transport des concurrents via le bus-navette, la contribution pour les volontaires, la signalétique fixe et mobile, les assurances de responsabilité civile, la récompense des vainqueurs, le chronométrage, la couverture médiatique, les publicités, etc.
Une partie des coûts est soutenue par les généreux sponsors, alors qu’une grande partie est couverte par les recettes effectuées par l’événement lui-même. Ceci dit le Scenic Trail, par rapport à d’autres courses similaires, propose un des tarifs les plus avantageux. Les milliers d’heures passées avant, pendant et après l’événement, à l’organisation de la compétition ne sont, bien entendu, pas comptées.

POURQUOI FAUT-IL D’ABORD CREER UN COMPTE PERSONNEL SUR ACTIVE NETWORK POUR POUVOIR S’INSCRIRE À LA COURSE?

La création de ce compte permet de gérer plus facilement les inscriptions à des courses diverses en évitant ainsi de devoir insérer sans cesse les informations et coordonnées personnelles, et en même temps de permettre aux organisateurs de posséder « la carte d’identité » de chaque coureur, compris les numéro de téléphone d’urgence des membres de la famille ou des amis en cas d’accident, la visualisation des paiements d’inscription, de l’utilisation de bons de réduction ou d’invitation. En outre ces informations (qui ne sont en aucun cas divulgués à des tiers), servent par exemple à quantifier les tailles de t-shirt finisher par dimension et par sexe, à avoir une adresse postale à laquelle expédier des vêtements ou matériel perdus ou recevoir un prix a posteriori, ou bien encore un éventuel DVD avec photographies et vidéos de la manifestation, etc.

ÊTRE MEMBRE D’UNE SOCIETE SPORTIVE RESERVE T-IL DES AVANTAGES SUR LES FRAIS D’INSCRIPTION?

Non, pour le moment le coût de l’inscription, maintenue basse exprès, est la même pour tous. Plus tard, les membres de la SWISS TRAIL RUNNING ASSOCIATION pourraient profiter d’une réduction ou autre participation gratuite à la course (information non confirmée). Si par contre votre team ou votre société d’appartenance voulait venir en groupe (considéré comme tel à partir de 8 personnes), la direction de la course envisagerait des réductions. S’informer auprès de info@scenictrail.ch.

ÊTRE MEMBRE ADHERENT À LA REGA (GARDE AERIENNE SUISSE DE SAUVETAGE) M’AFFRANCHIT-IL DE LA PRISE EN CHARGE D’UNE EVENTUELLE INTERVENTION DE RECUPERATION EN HELICOPTÈRE?

Être ahérent à la Rega n’a aucune valeur dans ce sens, étant donné que le paiement d’une telle intervention est généralement à la charge de l’assurance accident vie privée de la personne secourue, quelle que soit sa nationalité. Souvent un petit pourcentage de ces frais reste à la charge du patient et la Rega, dans ce cas, pourrait décider de renoncer à cette part. Sans assurance accident vie privée ou autre assurance similaire qui couvre explicitement un secours en hélicoptère, les coûts seront entièrement à la charge de la personne secourue. Encore une fois, vérifiez votre police d’assurance ou les lois propres à ce type de situation (pour l’Italie www.inps.it pour la France www.ffsa.fr).

EXISTE T-IL UNE ASSURANCE COUVRANT LES ACCIDENTS?

Non, chaque coureur doit être assuré individuellement avec une assurance accident vie privée qui couvre également les manifestations sportives et interventions d’urgence (par exemple intervention par hélicoptère). Chaque pays a ses lois et clauses, c’est pourquoi chaque participant doit vérifier sa couverture assurance auprès de l’organisme compétent. Un accident pourrait aussi bien arriver lors d’un séjour de vacance à l’étranger, la situation serait alors la même. Il faut savoir qu’aucune course Suisse n’offre de couverture assurance accident collective. Nous confirmons donc une fois de plus la responsabilité des inscrits à s’informer dans les temps de leur propre assurance privée.

FAUT-IL ÊTRE MAJEUR POUR S’INSCRIRE À UNE COURSE?

Non, les concurrents sont acceptés à partir de leur 13ème anniversaire pour la K11, 14ème pour la K27 et le Vertical della Croce, 16ème anniversaire pour la K54, à condition que les parents ou le tuteur légal aient signé une délibération, assumant ainsi la responsabilité de ce choix. Pour la K113 les concurrents sont acceptés à partir de leur 18ème anniversaire.

POUR COURIR EN SUISSE, FAUT-IL UN CERTIFICAT MEDICAL?

Non, pour courir en Suisse un certificat médical n’est pas nécessaire. Le coureur certifie être en bonne santé, être capable d’affronter une course et en assume les risques. Une visite médicale est conseillée mais pas obligatoire.

COMMENT RENTRER A TESSERETE DEPUIS BOGNO APRÈS LA K27?

Depuis Bogno, un service de  bus-navette est organisé pour les coureurs qui terminent la course. En 20 minutes à peu près, les participants seront de retour à Tesserete.

COMMENT RENTRER A TESSERETE APRÈS LE WALKING K11?

La descente vers Tesserete depuis la cabane Ginestra se pratique sur un sentier marqué pour l’occasion qui vous reconduira à Tesserete en 30 minutes environ.

I Support Greenhope Logo

Depuis 2016 nous sommes fiers de soutenir la Fondation Greenhope. Une fondation de bienfaisance qui sensibilise et responsabilise la communauté sportive dans la lute contre le cancer infantile.

Start typing and press Enter to search